Built between 1806 and 1815 by Dr. George Cabell, legend has it that the name of this Federal-style mansion was inspired by the many duels that took place on the front lawn on the bluffs overlooking Lynchburg and the James River. Educated at Hampden-Sydney Academy and the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Cabell made his fortune shipping tobacco from his 750-acre plantation on bateaux down the James River to Richmond. He was a friend of both Thomas Jefferson and Patrick Henry and attended Patrick Henry upon his death at nearby Red Hill.

During the Civil War Point of Honor was owned by Virginia and Tennessee railroad boss Col. Robert Owen. The railroad connected Lynchburg to Bristol, Tennessee and was a major supply line for Robert E. Lee's Army of Northern Virginia. Owens' wife, Narcissa, the daughter of a Cherokee chief, headed up the Lynchburg Soldiers' Aid Society providing uniforms and supplies to Confederate soldiers. During the Shenandoah Valley Campaign of 1864, Union Gen. Hunter sent two spies posing as Confederate soldiers to Point of Honor requesting food. Narcissa spotted the imposters and told them that there were 20,000 Confederate troops in town and that they planned to attack the Yankees in the morning. Narcissa's quick thinking may have influenced Hunter's decision to retreat.

Part of the Lynchburg Museum system, Point of Honor has been carefully restored to create a true step back in time to the early 19th century. The property includes gardens and a reconstructed hearth kitchen and carriage house. Point of Honor is open daily and conducts guided tours of the manor home and features a museum, gift shop and seasonal events.

Pictured at the top: The impeccably restored Point of Honor is getting a new roof.